It’s 16 teams for 2017 KPL season, Sports Tribunal rules


More by this Author

The 2017 Kenyan Premier League season will have 16 teams, the Sports Disputes Tribunal announced on Friday.

The move by the Tribunal to give direction on the composition of the top tier comes in the wake of a long dispute between the Football Kenya Federation and the league managers over the number of teams which will be competing in the top flight this term.

Muhoroni Youth and Sofapaka, who were relegated by the federation for failing to meet the club licensing threshold, will have to await their fate. Vihiga United and KCB, who were promoted to fill in the slots left by the relegated duo, will also have to wait longer to know their fate.

The ruling means Kariobangi Sharks, Nakumatt, Zoo Kericho and Nzoia United will now be part of the 16 team league. The Tribunal also directed that the league to kick-off within the next two weeks.

rn rn

You might also like More from author

Leave A Reply